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DEAR MARYLANDER:

A good relationship between you and your landlord will determine
the success of your rental experience. Renting always requires some
kind of rental agreement that is between the landlord and the
tenant. It’s important that you understand the commitments made
in these contracts so misunderstandings can be avoided.

The Consumer Protection Division receives many inquiries about
rental concerns. This booklet provides you with information about
Maryland landlord/tenant laws. It covers topics dealing with
applications, leases, security deposits, rent escrow, lead paint
hazards, eviction, and where to seek help if problems arise.

The booklet is part of our continuing effort to keep consumers well
informed. We hope it will help renters to understand their rights

and obligations as well as the remedies that are available under
Maryland Law.

In reviewing this booklet, keep in mind that many Maryland
counties and Baltimore City have different landlord/tenant laws that
may provide additional protections or require that you follow
different procedures.

Anthony G. Brown

Maryland Attorney General
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APPLICATION FEES

Q. Karen paid a $25 application fee to apply for an apartment.
The next day, she found another apartment she liked better. She
asked the first landlord if he would refund her application fee,
but he said the fee was nonrefundable. Did the landlord have the
right to keep the fee?

A: Yes. A landlord may keep an application fee of $25 or less.

If a landlord rents five or more units at one location, the lease applica-
tion must explain what your obligations and rights are if an applica-
tion fee is collected.

An application fee is any fee other than a security deposit paid to a
landlord before a lease is signed. You should never sign a lease until
your application has been accepted.

Landlords use application fees to cover the costs of processing an
application, such as running a credit check. A landlord is entitled to
keep an application fee of $25 or less. If the fee is more than $25, the
landlord must refund any amount that was not used to process your
application. The excess amount must be returned to you within 15
days after you’ve moved in or after you or the landlord has given writ-
ten notification that the rental won't take place.

If the landlord withholds more than $25 of an application fee, you
should ask the landlord to provide a written explanation of exactly
what expenses were incurred, and what the cost of each item was. If
you are not satisfied with the explanation, you may want to pursue the
matter further.

If, when filling out an application, a landlord asks for money to hold
an apartment, it may not be clear that you are being asked for a
security deposit. It’s not wise to pay a security deposit until your
application has been accepted and you are signing a lease. Before you
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pay any money, you should confirm with the landlord whether it will
be refunded if you decide not to rent or if the landlord decides not to
rent to you. Ask the landlord to write that information on a receipt.
This could save you from having to fight to get the money refunded
later.

LEASES

Q. Steve made an oral agreement with a landlord that he would
rent an apartment on a month-to-month basis for $600 a month,
that he would pay the utilities, and move in on the 15th of the
following month. Is this a legal contract?

A. Yes. Oral leases are legal for lease terms of less than one
year. However, a written lease is strongly recommended
to help landlords and tenants avoid disputes.

A landlotd is
required to use a
written lease if
the tenancy is

\\\\ going to be for a
‘ N \Q g year or longer,
: ot if the landlord
owns five or

more rental units
in the state.

Otherwise, the landlord and tenant may orally agree on what the
rent and other terms of the rental will be. If you enter into an oral
contract, it’s very important that you know your and your
landlord’s legal rights and responsibilities. You should also have a
clear understanding with your landlord about all terms in the
agreement. However, it would be to your advantage to clarify
things by having a written lease. Many landlords use a standard
lease for all their tenants.



However, you may want to negotiate your own terms with the
landlord. Additional terms can be written on the agreement, and
terms that are unacceptable to you can be crossed out. Of course, the
landlord must agree to these terms as well. Be sure that all changes
are dated and initialed by both you and the landlord. State law
requires that a landlord who offers five or more dwelling units for
rent in Maryland must include in each lease a statement that the
premises will be available in a reasonably safe, habitable condition; or,
it that is not the agreement, a statement concerning the condition of
the premises (even if the lease does not provide this provision, there
is a warranty of habitability.) The lease must also specify the
landlord’s and the tenant’s obligations as to heat, gas, electricity,
water, and repair of the premises. In addition, a copy of the
Maryland Tenant’s Bill of Rights must be included with the lease
once it is published by the Office of Tenant and Landlord Affairs.

A lease may not contain any provision that denies
rights granted to tenants under Maryland law. The
lease may not:

* Authorize a confessed judgment, whereby you
waive all rights to defend yourself;

* Impose a late rent penalty higher than 5 percent
of the amount owed;

* Impose a late rent penalty higher than $3 a week
where rent is paid weekly (not to exceed $12 a
month);

* Give the landlord the right to evict or take any of
your personal possessions without a court judg-
ment; or

* Provide for less than 30 days’ notice to terminate
your lease.




ADVANCE COPY OF THE LEASE

If you request it in writing, a landlord must give you a copy of a lease
before you decide whether to rent. It must include all agreed upon
terms, but it does not have to state your name and address, the date

you are moving
in, or identifica-
tion and rental

T

LEASE AGREEMENT
rate of your unit.

It’s a very good
idea to get a copy
of the lease to
read in advance.
Before you sign a

lease, you should

be aware of all the

terms it includes, including when rent is due, late fees, procedures for
giving notice at the end of the lease, automatic renewal provisions,
and return of the security deposit. You should also read and make
sure you can live with the rules regarding pets, parking, storage areas,
noise, carpeting requirements, trash, maximum number of occupants,
and move-out procedures.

RENT RECEIPTS

A landlord is required to give a tenant a receipt for a rent payment
upon request or one that is paid in cash. (In Anne Arundel County, a
landlord is required to give a receipt unless the payment is made by
check or unless the tenant rents the property for commercial or busi-
ness purposes.)



SECURITY DEPOSITS

A security deposit is any money a tenant pays to a landlord that
protects the landlord against damage to the rented property,
failure to pay rent, or expenses incurred due to a breach of the
lease.

The security
deposit may not
be more than one
month’s rent
unless the tenant
qualifies for utility
assistance
through the
Department of
Human Services,
payment for
utility services is

made directly by the tenant to the landlord, and the tenant and
landlord agree in writing to the security deposit.

If you are overcharged, you have the right to recover up to three
times the extra amount charged, plus reasonable attorney’s fees. The
landlord must give you a receipt for the security deposit. The receipt
can be included in the written lease. There is a $25 penalty if the
landlord fails to give you a receipt. The receipt or lease should state
your right to receive from the landlord a written list of all existing
damages in the rental property, if you make a request by certified
mail for it within 15 days of taking occupancy. If a list of the existing
damages is not provided, the landlord may be liable for three times
the security deposit, less any damages, unpaid rent or eviction filing
fees. The landlord must put the security deposit in an escrow
account.



When returning security deposits held for more than six (6) months
and that are $50 or more, the landlord must include simple interest
of 3 percent per year, accrued at monthly intervals from the date the
security deposit was paid for all tenancies that were initiated prior to
January 1, 2015. For tenancies that began on or after January 1, 2015,
the interest rate is payable at 1.5 percent a year OR the simple
interest rate accrued at the daily U.S. Treasury yield curve rate for
one yeat, as of the first business day of each year, whichever is
greater. The Maryland Department of Housing and Community
Development has a Rental Security Deposit Calculator on its website
at http:/ /www.dhcd.maryland.gov to help you calculate this interest
rate. A landlord must pay 4 percent on deposits held before October
1, 2004.

RETURN OF THE SECURITY DEPOSIT

Q. Daniel broke his lease when he bought a house. The
landlord was able to rent to a new tenant three days after Daniel
moved out. However, he said he was keeping Daniel’s security
deposit because he had broken the lease. Was the landlord
entitled to keep the money?

A. Not the entire amount. A landlord may only withhold from
the security deposit an amount equal to actual damages
suffered. The landlord didn’t incur any expenses in re-renting,
and there was no damage to the apartment, so his only loss
was the three days of lost rent.

Q. Tiffany lived in an apartment for five years. When she moved
out, the landlord kept her security deposit to repaint the
apartment and replace the living room carpet. Was the landlord
entitled to keep the money?
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A. Unless Tiffany damaged the carpet or the walls beyond ordi-
nary weat, the landlord could not keep any money from the secu-
rity deposit. A landlord may not keep a tenant’s security deposit to
pay for touch-ups and replacements needed due to normal wear
and tear.

Security deposit disputes often involve misunderstandings about when
the landlord is entitled to keep the security deposit, and disagreements
about whether the tenant caused damage to the rental unit.

The landlord must return a tenant’s
security deposit plus interest, less
any damages rightfully withheld,
within 45 days after the tenancy
ends. If the landlord fails to do this
without a good reason, you may sue
for up to three times the withheld
amount, plus reasonable attorney’s
fees.

If the landlord withholds any part
of your security deposit, they must
send you a written list of damages,
with a statement of what it cost to
repair the damages, by first-class
mail to your last known address

within 45 days after you move out.
If the landlord fails to do this, they lose the right to withhold any part of
the security deposit.

You have the right to be present when the landlord inspects your rental
unit for damages at the end of your lease, if you notify the landlord by
certified mail at least 15 days prior to moving of your intention to move,
the date of moving, and your new address. The landlord must then notify
you by certified mail of the time and date of the inspection. The
inspection must be within five days before or five days after your move-
out date. The landlord must disclose these rights to you in writing when
you pay the security deposit.



If not, the landlord forfeits the right to withhold any part of the
security deposit for damages.

Your rights and duties are different if you have been evicted for
breach of the lease, or have left the rented property before the lease
expired. Under these circumstances, you should send a written notice
to the landlord by first-class mail within 45 days of being evicted or
leaving the property. This notice must advise the landlord of your
new address and request the return of your deposit.

Once the landlord receives the written request, they must take certain
steps.

e The landlord must send a list of damages to the rental unit
and cost incurred to repair them to you by first-class mail
within 45 days. If the landlord fails to send you a list of
damages, they forfeit the right to withhold the security
deposit.

e The security deposit, plus interest, less any damages rightfully
withheld, must be returned within 45 days of your notice.

RENTAL PROPERTY SURETY BONDS

Q. Richard paid a $200 premium for a surety bond when he
moved into his apartment. After he moved out, the landlord
performed an inspection of his unit and sent a letter stating that
Richard owed $150 for damage done to the bathroom and re-
quested payment for the damages. Is Richard still responsible
for paying these damages even though he paid for a surety
bond?

A: Yes. When renting an apartment, a landlord may accept a
surety bond as an alternative to the tenant providing a security
deposit. While both protect the landlord against damage to the
rented property, failure to pay rent, or expenses incurred due to
a breach of lease, there are underlying differences.
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A surety bond is a bond that a tenant can purchase to protect a

landlord from damages to the rental premises in excess of ordinary
wear and tear, lost rent, or damages due to breach of lease. Richard
may choose to pay the landlord directly for the damage or have the

damages paid from the surety bond.
However, if the damages are paid
from the surety bond, Richard will
eventually be asked to reimburse the
surety for the amount it paid the
landlord.

You cannot be required to purchase
a surety bond; instead, you can give
your landlord a security deposit. The
amount of the surety bond cannot,
on its own or combined with any
security deposit, exceed two
months’ rent.

Tenants who purchase surety bonds
have many of the same protections they have when they pay a
security deposit. For example, tenants who purchase surety bonds
have the right to:

e Inspect the rental premises with their landlord before and after
they occupy the property;

e Receive a list of damages the landlord claims the tenant is
responsible for; and

e Receive a receipt explaining their rights when they are asked to
purchase a surety bond.

There are major differences between a security deposit and surety bond.
Surety bonds do not relieve the tenant from having to pay for such
damages at the end of the tenancy. Unlike a security deposit, the
premium paid for a surety bond is not refundable at the end of the
tenancy and the amount the tenant paid for the surety bond premium is
not credited toward the payment of any damages.

12



"DAMAGE" OR NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR

This is often the point on which landlords and tenants disagree.
Unfortunately, there are no hard and fast rules that fit every situation.
Common sense suggests that carpeting will need to be replaced peri-
odically, and walls will need repainting, due to normal wear and tear.
A landlord must expect to bear these costs as part of doing business.
If, however, a tenant scorched a large area of the carpeting or dragged
an appliance over it and ripped it, that could reasonably be
considered damage.

Leaving small holes from picture hooks in the wall would be wear
and tear, while knocking a hole in the wall that would require drywall
or plaster repair could be considered damage.

RIGHT TO TAKE POSSESSION AT BEGINNING
OF LEASE

Q. Jason was supposed to move into his new apartment on
March 1st, but the previous tenant did not move out on time and
the landlord said the apartment would not be ready until the 6th.
What could Jason do?

A: Jason has the
right to cancel his
lease and get back
any prepaid rent
or security deposit
he had paid to the
landlord. If he
chooses to wait for
the apartment, he
could find tempo-
rary lodging, put his furniture into storage, and have the landlord
pay for those expenses, as well as additional moving expenses.
He would not owe rent for the days he was not able to

occupy the apartment. 13




If a landlord doesn’t allow you to take possession of your rental unit at
the beginning of your lease, you have the right to cancel the lease with
written notice to the landlord. Also, the landlord is liable to you for any
damages you suffer as a result of not being able to move in at the begin-
ning of the lease, whether or not you decide to cancel the lease. Unfor-
tunately, while the landlord may be legally responsible for your expenses
in this situation, it may not be easy to obtain payment. You may have to
take the landlotd to court, and then undertake collection efforts.

LEASE RENEWALS

Q. Allison knew she had to give her landlord 30 days’ notice
before moving out. Six weeks before the end of her lease, Allison
told a rental office employee that she would move out at the end
of the lease. Later, the rental office notified her that her lease had
automatically renewed, because she hadn’t given the notice in
writing, as required by the lease. Why should she have given
written notice?

A: To protect yourself, always give the landlord written notice of
your intention to move out, and keep a copy for yourself.

Many leases contain a provision that allows the lease to automatically

renew for another term, or to
renew on a month-to-month
| basis, unless either the
landlord or the tenant gives
prior notice that they will not
iy renew. Note how many days
in advance you will have to

§ notify the landlord if you

| don’t wish to renew the lease.
If you fail to give this notice

in time, your lease could be automatlcally renewed. You should submit
the notice in writing and be sure that the landlord receives it on time.
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Send the notice by certified mail if you want to have proof that it
was received on time.

An automatic renewal provision in a lease must provide space for the
tenant to give written acknowledgment agreeing to the provision.

If the landlord can’t show your signature, initials, or another mark
acknowledging that provision, the landlord can’t enforce an
automatic renewal of the lease.

Some leases don’t have automatic renewal provisions, so you must
sign a new lease if you wish to continue renting.

RENT INCREASES OR OTHER CHANGES IN
TERMS

Landlords must provide at least 90-days’ written notice of a rent
increase for tenancies longer than one month, 60-days’ written notice
of a rent increase for tenancy longer than a week, 21-days’ written
notice of a rent increase for week-to-week tenancies if there is no
written lease agreement, and 7-days’ written notice of a rent increase
for week-to-week tenancies if there is a written lease agreement. If
you wish to continue renting, be sure you know whether any of the
terms of the lease will change. If your lease does not automatically
renew, be sure to thoroughly read the new lease you will sign. It’s a
new contract between you and the landlord, and any of the terms may
be different from the terms in your prior lease.

BREAKING A LEASE

Q. Candace notified her landlord that she had to break her
lease, as she was getting married. The landlord said Candace
would be responsible for the rent for the remaining four months
of the lease if a new tenant could not be found. Was the
landlord correct?

15



A. Yes. You are obligated to pay rent through the end of the
lease. However, the landlord may only collect for the period
during which the property remained vacant.

If you break your lease, the landlord can hold you responsible for the
rent due through the remainder of the lease. However, a landlord is
required to make a reasonable effort to re-rent the apartment to limit
losses.

If the landlord is able to re-rent the unit, you are only responsible for
the rent until the date the new tenant moves in.

A landlord with multiple vacant units is not required to put a new
tenant into the unit you have vacated. Also, a landlord can hold you
responsible for costs of re-renting, such as advertising.

Some leases have a clause that allows the tenant to cancel the lease
with a certain amount of notice, and perhaps offer you the option to
leave early and not be responsible for the remainder of the lease in
exchange for the payment of a fee. Other leases may contain a clause
that allows a tenant to cancel the lease if the tenant is transferred by an
employer to a location a certain number of miles away. Under
Maryland law, military personnel who have received orders for a
permanent change of station (or temporary duty for more than three
months) may end a lease with proper notice.

\ y 4 It’s wise to think ahead before
\___m‘ “;-_:,/ A_ signing a long-term lease. If

e o e | you anticipate buying a house,

" getting married, or having to

move for some other reason in

the near future, ask the
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RENT ESCROW: WHEN THE LANDLORD
FAILS TO MAKE REPAIRS

Q. During the winter months, there was very little heat in
Lisa’s apartment. After calling the landlord several times about
the problem, she sent a written complaint that the landlord
ignored. Lisa then reported this condition to the city housing
inspector, who issued a notice of violation to the landlord. Can
Lisa stop paying rent until the landlord fixes the problem?

A. No. If she stopped paying rent, the landlord could evict her.
But Lisa does T
have the right to

have adequate '
heat in her apart-
ment. By follow-
ing certain steps,
she can deposit
her rent money
into an escrow ac-
count established
at the District
Court instead of
paying rent to her landlord.

Under Maryland law, if a landlord fails to repair serious or
dangerous defects in a rental unit, you have the right to pay rent into
an escrow account established at the local District Court. But the
law is very specific about the conditions under which rent may be
placed in escrow. You must give the landlord proper notice and
adequate time to make the repairs before you have the right to place
rent in escrow. The escrow account can only be set up by the Court.
The serious or dangerous conditions include, but are not limited to:
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* Lack of heat, light, electricity, or water, unless you are responsible
for the utilities and the utilities were shut off because you didn’t pay
the bill (lack of air conditioning is not considered a serious or
dangerous situation that would permit rent escrow);

 Lack of adequate sewage disposal;
* Rodent infestation in two or more units;
* Lead-based paint hazards that the landlord has failed to reduce;

* The existence of any structural defect that presents a serious threat
to your physical safety; and

* The existence of any condition that presents a serious fire or health
hazard.

Rent escrow is not provided for defects that just make the apartment
or home less attractive or comfortable, such as small cracks in the
floor, walls, or ceiling.

In order to withhold rent for conditions that constitute a threat to life,
health, or safety, you must provide actual notice of the defects. If the
tenant prevails in court, the tenant may be awarded reasonable
attorneys' fees, expenses, and costs.

18



BESIDES RENT ESCROW, WHAT ELSE CAN A
TENANT DO IF A LANDLORD DOES NOT MAKE
REPAIRS?

A tenant can report the landlord to local authorities. Under a
law that the Maryland General Assembly passed in 1986, every
county must adopt a housing code that meets minimum state-
wide standards. Some counties and Baltimore City have com-

prehensive housing and building
codes that are enforced by local
authorities.

The local authorities will investigate
your complaint and, if the land-

lord is cited for violations, repairs
have to be made.

You can notify the landlord by certified mail, or they may be notified of the
violations from an appropriate government agency, such as the local
housing department.

The landlord then has a reasonable amount of time after receiving notice to
correct the conditions. If the landlord fails to do this, you may go to court
to file a rent escrow action.

Before an escrow account can be established, the Court will hold

a hearing to listen to both sides of the story. If the facts call for a rent
escrow account to be set up, the judge can take several actions, including
returning all or part of the money to you as compensation, returning all or
part of the money to you or the landlord in order to make repairs, or
appointing a special administrator to ensure that the repairs are made. Once
the escrow account is established, you must continue to regularly pay rent
into this account.
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Baltimore City has a rent escrow law that is very similar to state law.

Therefore, Baltimore residents must exercise their rent escrow rights
under city law. If you reside in a county where a rent escrow law has
been adopted, you must follow procedures required under local law

for setting up an escrow account.

If you opt to withhold rent without establishing an escrow account,
you still must notify the landlord by certified mail of the problems in
the unit and of your refusal to pay the rent. However, the landlord
could take you to court and try to evict you. You may then defend
yourself by telling the Court your reasons for withholding rent. If
the Court agrees that the condition of your home or apartment
poses a serious threat to your life, health or safety, you will be
required at that time to put your rent payments into an escrow
account until the dispute is resolved.

LANDLORD RETALIATION AGAINST
TENANTS

Q. Maria and two other tenants in her apartment complex cir-
culated a petition to form a tenants’ group to deal with the
landlord’s failure to make repairs. The landlord’s nephew, who
is also a tenant in the complex, reported this activity to the
landlord. The landlord notified Maria that her rent would
increase by $100 a month. Does Maria have to pay the higher
rent or face eviction?

A: No.

A landlord cannot evict you, increase your
rent, or fail to provide services because you
organize or join a tenants’ organization. The
landlord also can’t take any of these actions if
you complain to them, file a good-faith ~ ®
complaint against them with the housing
inspection department or other agency, or file
a lawsuit.
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LEAD-BASED PAINT HAZARDS

Q. Tyrone and Sarah rented an older rowhome. Because they had
young children, they asked the landlord if the home had lead-
based paint. The landlord said she had recently painted the walls
and woodwork and there was no chipping paint, so they didn’t
need to worry. Should Tyrone and Sarah be satisfied with that
answer?

A. No. Both federal and Maryland law require a landlord renting
an older home (built before 1978) to, at the very least, give the
tenant a specific pamphlet about lead-based paint hazards. More
importantly, Maryland law requires landlords renting homes built
before 1978 to give the tenant a Risk Reduction Certificate
proving that the property has had lead risk reduction measures
taken.

Lead-based paint found in older homes is extremely dangerous to
young children and preg-
nant women. Lead poi-

soning can cause learning
disabilities, hearing loss,
attention deficit disorder,
loss of 1QQ, speech develop-
ment delays, hyperactivity,
and aggressive behavior in
children. It can cause ab-
normal fetal development
and miscarriage in pregnant
women.
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WHAT MARYLAND LAW PROVIDES:

A landlord renting a property built before 1978 in Maryland must meet
three requirements before renting to you.

1. Register the property and pay a $30 fee annually to the Mary-
land Department of the Environment.

2. Give you the pamphlets “Lead Poisoning Prevention Program:
Notice of Tenant’s Rights” and “Protect Your Family from Lead
in Your Home.”

3. Perform Full Risk Reduction Measures (lead hazard treatments)
in the property and get a Risk Reduction Certificate, and give
you a copy of the certificate before you move in.

If a landlord receives a written “Notice of Defect” that there is chipping or
peeling paint, or a notice of a child with elevated blood lead level in the
property, the landlord must respond by performing Modified Risk
Reduction Measures within 30 days of receiving the notice. All tenants must
be relocated while Risk Reduction Treatments are being performed. If you
are required to leave your house for more than 24 hours while treatments
are performed, the property owner must pay reasonable expenses for
overnight housing and possibly meals for your family.

It’s illegal in Maryland for a landlord to retaliate and evict a tenant primarily
because the tenant or a housing inspector sends a notice to the landlord
informing them that there are lead hazards in the property or that there is a
child with an elevated blood lead level living in the property.
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REQUIREMENTS OF FEDERAL LAW

Federal law (Title X - The Federal Residential Lead-Based Paint
Hazard Reduction Act of 1992) requires that a landlord renting a
property built before 1978 disclose to the tenant any known lead-
based paint hazards on the property before the lease is final. The
landlord must also give the tenant a “Protect Your Family from Lead
in Your Home" pamphlet, which explains the dangers of lead-based
paint hazards.

FAIR HOUSING REMINDER

It may be illegal for a landlord to require that a family disclose the
blood lead levels of their children prior to the approval of their rental
application, or to discriminate by refusing to rent to families with
children or families with lead-poisoned children. Some landlords
have been sued for these actions.
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MORE INFORMATION

For more information on the dangers associated with lead-
based paint and how to deal with it in your home, contact the
Green & Healthy Homes Initiative at 410-534-6447 or the
Maryland Department of the Environment at
410-776-2706. Helpful information for tenants and landlords
can also be found in a pamphlet produced by the
Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Consumer Product
Safety Commission, and U.S. Department of Housing and
Utban Development (http://www.epa.gov/lead/protect-
your-family-lead-your-home). If you suspect your child has
been exposed to lead-based paint, call your child's doctor
immediately to request a blood test.

EVICTION

Q. Kevin and two fellow college students rented a house. The lease
stated that only three non-related adults could occupy the house,
but Kevin invited two more students to move in to share costs.
After neighbors complained about loud parties, the landlord
discovered the extra tenants. He told the students he was evicting
all of them for breach of lease and they had to be out of the house
by the weekend. Could the landlord do that?

A: No. The landlord can evict the students, but must follow the
process set forth by Maryland law.

Eviction is a legal procedure. The landlord can’t just tell you that you
have to move or throw out your belongings. To evict you, a landlord
must go to District Court to get a judgment against you. If a landlord
moves your belongings out of the house, changes the locks, or cuts off
utilities without court order, you should call the police and an attorney or
a legal services organization. 24



A landlord cannot evict you simply because you have filed a complaint
or a lawsuit against them or because you have joined a tenants’
association. This is called a “retaliatory eviction,” and you may be
able to stop an eviction by showing the Court that your landlord
is evicting you for one of these reasons.

The statewide Access to Counsel in Evictions Program, which is
funded through Fiscal Year 2027, provides low-income Marylanders
with counsel in eviction cases. For legal assistance, renters can call 211
or visit www.legalhelpmd.org.

A landlord can evict you for:

* Nonpayment of rent. Your landlord can begin the eviction process
as soon as your rent due date has passed and you have not paid the
rent. The landlord must provide you a written notice of the
landlord’s intent to file a failure to pay rent action against you 10
days prior to filing it. In most instances, you can stop the eviction
any time before the sheriff actually comes to evict you by paying
the rent that is owed.

* “Holding over.” If you don’t move out when your lease has ended,
your landlord may evict you for “holding over.” The landlord must
prove that they gave you proper written notice (at least one month)
of the ending of your lease.
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* Breach of lease. A landlord may evict you for breaking some
part of your lease (for example, by having more people living in
the home than the lease permits). Before going to court, the
landlord must give you one month’ advance written notice
ending the > 2l 7
lease (only
14 days’
notice is
required
when the
tenant has
exhibited
behavior
that con-
stitutes a
threat to
others’
safety.) The landlord will have to prove that you violated your
lease and that the violation was a serious one. The landlord is
prevented from charging you for any eviction filing fees, unless
it is done as a deduction from a security deposit after the court
enters an order granting the landlord possession of the
property, the lease provides for this, and the deduction is not
more than the security deposit.

In addition, the state’s attorney, the county attorney, or a community
association may bring an eviction action against tenants involved in
illegal drug activities.

If your landlord begins an eviction proceeding, you will receive an
official summons to attend a hearing. The summons may be served
to you in person, but it is usually mailed and/or posted on the rental
property. Do not ignore it. Go to the hearing and be on time. If you
do not show up, the landlord will probably win.

The hearing gives you the chance to tell your side of the story.
For example, you may be able to prove that you did pay the rent, or
that you tried to pay the rent but the landlord wouldn’t accept it, or
that the landlord didn’t give you proper written notice that
you had violated your lease and had to move out.
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If the judge rules in favor of the landlord, within seven working days the
landlord can file a court order for the eviction—called a "warrant of
restitution"—and arrange for a sheriff to oversee the eviction.

The warrant of restitution must be stayed by the judge if there is a
temperature or next-day forecasted temperature of 32 degrees or less, or
either an excessive heat warning, a winter storm/blizzard warning or a
hurricane or tropical storm warning issued by the National Weather
Service, or other State of Emergency declared. The stay will end and the
warrant of restitution will be processed within 5 days after the extreme
weather conditions or the State of Emergency ends.

You may appeal an eviction judgment. The appeal must be made within
four days of the date of judgment in nonpayment of rent cases and 10
days in breach of lease or holding over cases. You may have to post a
bond to cover the rent while waiting for the Circuit Court to decide the

appeal.

On the date of an eviction, the sheriff will come to the rental unit to order
the tenant and everyone inside to leave. The landlord or the landlord’s
employees can then remove all property from the unit and put it on the
public right-of-way while the sheriff supervises, except in Baltimore City.
Once the property is moved from the unit, it’s the tenant’s responsibility
to remove it. In Baltimore City, the property will be locked in the unit,
instead of being removed, and will be considered abandoned by the tenant

if proper notice is given.
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If a landlord moves your belongings out of the home, changes the
locks, or cuts off utilities without a court order, you should call the
police and an attorney or a legal services organization. A landlord
cannot evict you simply because you have filed a complaint or a lawsuit
against them or because you have joined a tenants’ association. This is
called a “retaliatory eviction,” and you may be able to stop an eviction
by showing the Court that your landlord is evicting you for one of
these reasons.

If your local jurisdiction requires landlords to maintain a rental license,
the failure to be licensed may be a defense to an action to evict.

HELP FOR TENANTS FACING
EVICTION

If an eviction would leave you homeless,
you may be eligible for help from an
eviction prevention program offered by a
nonprofit housing assistance group or
your local Department of Social Services.
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SHIELDING OF RECORDS

The District Court is now required to shield any court record from a
failure to pay rent case within 60 days, if a judgment for possession is
not awarded to the landlord. A tenant may also petition for the
shielding of a failure to pay rent action when a tenant redeems
possession of the property and at least 12 months have passed since
the final resolution, or as justice requires.

RIGHT TO FIRST REFUSAL

Q: Joe has lived in a duplex for the past 10 years. His landlord
has told him that he is selling the property. Joe would like to
buy the property he is now living in. What can he do?

A: The landlord may be required to give Joe the right to buy the
property before selling to someone else. Joe should reach out
to the Office of Tenant and Landlord Affairs in the Department
of Housing and Community Development.

If you are a tenant in a 1-, 2-, or 3-unit residential rental property and
your landlord chooses to sell the property, the landlord may be
required to first give you the opportunity to buy the property before
selling to a third party. For more information, reach out to the
Office of Tenant and Landlord Affairs in the Department of
Housing and Community Development.
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ASSISTANCE WITH RENTAL PROBLEMS/RESOURCES

MARYLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
The Consumer Protection Division has a Mediation Unit that can
help you try to resolve a dispute with a landlord.

Downtown Baltimore Office

200 St. Paul Place, 16th Floor

Baltimore, MD 21202-2021

Consumer Hotline: 410-528-8662 or toll-free 888-743-0023

10 a.m. to 2 p.m., Mon.-Fri.

TDD for hearing impaired persons: 410-576-6372
www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/ CPD/

Consumers can download or print a consumer complaint form or file
a complaint online.

Branch Offices

Cumberland Telephone Assistance
301-722-2000

Frederick Telephone Assistance
301-600-1071

Prince George’s County Office
9200 Basil Ct., Suite 301, Largo, MD 20774
301-386-6200

Western Maryland Office
44 North Potomac St., Suite 104, Hagerstown, MD 21740
301-791-4780

Eastern Shore Office
201 Baptist St., Salisbury, MD 21801
410-713-3620
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Southern Maryland Telephone Assistance
301-274-4620 or toll-free 866-366-8343

COUNTY CONSUMER OFFICES

Although the Consumer Protection Division covers the entire state,
Montgomery and Howard Counties also have their own consumer
protection offices that could help you with rental problems. Contact
the office to find out if the county has its own landlord-tenant laws
that might offer you extra protection.

Howard County Office of Consumer Protection
6751 Columbia Gateway Dr.

Columbia, MD 21046 * 410-313-6420

Montgomery County Office of Consumer Protection
100 Maryland Ave.

Rockville, MD 20850 ¢ 240-777-3636

OTHER RESOURCES

You may also get help from these groups:

Public Justice Center (a nonprofit legal advocacy organization that
focuses on systemic change for people living in poverty)

1 N. Charles St. Suite 200, Baltimore, MD 21201

410-625-9409 © http://www.publicjustice.org/

Local Code Enforcement Agencies (check your local directory)
MARYLAND LEGAL AID

Maryland Legal Aid is a private, nonprofit law firm that offers free
legal services to people with limited incomes. If you require legal help
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to resolve a landlord-tenant dispute, and are financially eligible for its
services, you can go to one of the Legal Aid offices located throughout
the state.

Central Legal Aid 500 E. Lexington St., Baltimore, MD 21202 o
410-951-7777, 800-999-8904

Anne Arundel County Office 229 Hanover St., Annapolis, MD
21401 » 410-972-2700, 800-666-8330

Baltimore County Office 215 Washington Ave., Suite 305, Towson,
MD 21204 « 410-427-1800, 877-878-5920

Howard County Office District Court, 2nd Floor, 3451 Court
House Dr., Ellicott City, MD 21043 ¢ 410-480-1057

Lower Eastern Shore Office 111 High St., Salisbury, MD 21801 *
410-546-5511, 800-444-4099

Midwestern Maryland Office (Carroll, Frederick, and Washington
Counties) 22 South Market St., Suite 11, Frederick, MD 21701
301-694-7414, 800-679-8813

Montgomery County Office 600 Jefferson Plaza, Suite 430,
Rockville, MD 20852  240-314-0373, 855-880-9487

Northeastern Maryland Office (Harford and Cecil Counties)
103 S. Hickory Ave., Bel Air, MD 21014 » 410-836-8202,
800-444-9529

Prince George’s County Office 8401 Corporate Drive, Suite 200
Landover, MD 20785 ¢ 301-560-2101, 888-215-5316
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Upper Eastern Shore Office 106 N. Washington St., Suite 101,
Easton, MD 21601 ¢ 410-763-9676, 800-477-2543

Western Maryland Office 110 Greene St., Cumberland, MD
21502 » 301-777-7474, 866-389-5243

RELEVANT LAWS CONCERNING LANDLORD-
TENANT ISSUES IN MARYLAND

You can access these laws at many county libraries or look up specific
sections of Maryland laws at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/ (click on
the “Statutes” tab).

Maryland law
Annotated Code of Maryland
Real Property, Title 8: Landlord and Tenant

8-203 Security Deposits and Surety Bonds

8-203.1 Security deposit receipt

8-204 Right of tenant to possession at beginning of lease

8-205 Requirement of landlord to give tenant receipt

8-208 Automatic renewal provisions

8-208.1 Retaliatory evictions

8-208.2 Retaliatory actions for informing landlord of
lead poisoning hazards

8-211-211.1 Repair of dangerous defects; rent escrow

8-212.1 Liability of military personnel receiving certain orders

8-213 Applications for leases; deposits

8-401-403 Eviction

Real Property, Title 8A: Mobile Home Parks
Environment 6-801-852, Lead paint hazard reduction

Federal law
Title X - The Federal Residential Lead-Based Paint Hazard
Reduction Act of 1992.

33



FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

My landlord has not repaired my dishwasher. Can I hold back part
of my rent until he does?

Not paying your full rent may put you at risk of being evicted. See
page 17 for situations that might qualify for rent escrow.

The landlord says I damaged the carpet, but the stains were there
when I moved in. What can I do?

If you noted the stains on a move-in inspection form or a list of dam-
ages (see page 13), you have proof that you didn’t cause the stains. If
you didn’t note the stains as preexisting, it will be hard to prove and the

landlord may have a right to hold back part of your security deposit.

Do I have a grace period for late rent payments?

Your lease or local laws may give you a certain period of time (for
example, five days) before a late fee is assessed. However, generally a
landlord may legally begin eviction proceedings as soon as your rent is

late. See page 24.

Can a landlord evict me just by telling me to leave or else they will
put my things on the street?
No, a landlord must go to court to get a judgment against you first.

See page 24.

I was supposed to move in on the first of the month. The other ten-
ant hasn’t moved out. What are my rights?

You have the right to cancel the lease with written notice, and the land-
lord is liable to you for damages you suffer as a result of not being able

to move in at the beginning of the lease. See page 13.
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My roommate or another tenant stops payment or moves out
before their lease is up. Who is responsible for paying their share of
the rent?

Even if your roommate/other tenant is listed on the lease, you may be

held liable for the full rent payment.

A landlord wouldn’t rent to me, and I think it’s a case of discrimina-
tion. Who can I file a complaint with?

The Maryland Commission on Civil Rights investigates complaints of
housing discrimination based on race, color, religion, national origin,
sex, age, familial status, or physical or mental handicap. Call 410-767-
8600 in Baltimore, 410-713-3611 around Salisbury, 301-790-4972
around Hagerstown, 301-880-2740 around Leonardtown, or
800-637-6247 toll-free anywhere in Maryland. You may also contact
our Civil Rights Division at civilrights@oag.state.md.us or call
410-576-6300 or 888-743-0023 toll-free for assistance.

Do I have to pay the last month’s rent? I thought that was what the
security deposit was for.

You are obligated to pay rent through the end of the lease, including
the last month. If you paid all your rent and didn't cause any damages,
the landlord will return your security deposit. See page 8.

Is there any limit to how much my landlord can increase the rent
for a new lease term?

Maryland state law has no rent control provisions, although local juris-
dictions may have rent control laws. See page 14 for more about lease
renewals.

Can a landlord refuse to rent to me because I have a Section 8
certificate?

Maryland’s Housing Opportunities Made Equal Act, known as the
HOME Act, took effect October 1, 2020, and prohibits housing
discrimination based on the source of a person’s income. This means a
landlord cannot refuse to rent to you solely on the basis that you
receive some form of government assistance, such as a housing voucher.
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